Traveling to New Mexico

Kate and I traveled to New Mexico. She had an Executive Council meeting there, and I went to spend the time shooting photos. I’ve never been to New Mexico and I’ve wanted to travel to the Southwest part of the US to see the country there. I wasn’t disappointed.

The day before we were supposed to fly to New Mexico, I was checking in for the flight but kept getting a message that my flight had been cancelled. I thought that I had accidentally cancelled it. I spoke with customer support from United and the agent told me that it had been automatically canceled because the ticket had never been issued. Kate called the travel agent that she used and we found out that she had never finalized the tickets. She was able to get us on a United flight but it cost her a lot of money since it was so last minute.

Beyond that, we made our flight and arrived there about 12:30pm. As we were collecting our luggage we ran into two of the board members coming to the meeting here. I had rented a car so we played a quick game of tetris to get all the luggage into a Jeep Renegade. Somehow we managed. After getting checked in and unpacked, we all piled back in the Jeep and headed to Old Town, the oldest part of the Albuquerque. It’s a really cool area of the city with lots of old buildings and shops. with a small park there. We tooled around for a while and stopped for a cold drink. Then back to the hotel to meet the rest of the people attending. I’ll write more about that in another posting. I went back down to Old Town by myself with my Speed Graphic 4×5 camera to take some photos.

I got a couple of shots with my Pentax camera, we’ll see how they turn out once I get home and develop all of the film.

Leave a comment